The Seán O'Faoláin International Short Story Competition


The Seán O Faoláin International Short Story Competition, established in 2003, is an annual short story competition open to writers from around the world. Submissions are accepted from May to July annually. Sponsored by the Munster Literature Centre, it is dedicated to one of Ireland’s most accomplished story writers and theorists. The winner receives a first prize of €2000 and a week-long residency at Anam Cara Retreat. The winning and shortlisted stories will also be published in issue 40 of Southword: New International Writing.

Read about 1st prize winner Ben Fergusson, 2nd prize winner La Williams, shortlisted authors Hilary Fennell, Erin Courtney Kelly, Niamh Mulvey and Mel O Doherty, as well as the thirty highly commended authors on our results page.


The Frank O'Connor International Short Story Fellowship

This fellowship is made possible through the very generous sponsorship of Cork City Council (the municipal government). The fellowship follows on from the Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award and further demonstrates the commitment of the Munster Literature Centre and Cork City Council to the international short story community. Named for one of Cork’s most renowned writers it acknowledges the special place the short story form occupies in the cultural history and contemporary practice of the city. This year the fellow is Alannah Hopkin, who will deliver a writing workshop as part of the festival.

The Frank O'Connor International Short Story Mentorship Bursaries

Two Frank O’Connor Mentorship Bursaries consisting of fees-free mentoring by the Frank O’Connor International Fellow are available yearly. Eligible applicants must be resident in Cork city or county and contributing to the literary life of Cork. There is a minimum requirement of one fiction periodical publication credit. There is no upper limit of qualification – any qualified Cork writer who considers themselves capable of benefiting from the Fellowship mentoring relationship may apply (except writers employed by the Munster Literature Centre or The School of English UCC). Successful applicants are chosen by the O'Connor Fellow.