About the authors:



Lydia Davis


Lydia Davis to read at the Cork International Short Story Festival


Reading Saturday, 22 September with John Banville @ 9.15pm
Triskel Christchurch, Tobin Street, Cork

Ticket Options


Lydia Davis is an American story writer, novelist, and translator. She is the author of six collections of stories and one novel, The End of the Story and most recently The Collected Stories of Lydia Davis. She is also the translator of numerous works of avant-garde French literature, including fiction by Maurice Blanchot and the autobiographical essays of Michel Leiris, as well as the Penguin Classic  Swann’s Way by Marcel Proust (Penguin UK, 2002) and Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert (Penguin UK, 2010). Among many other honours, she was named a Chevalier of the Order of Arts and Letters by the French government in 1999 and was awarded a MacArthur Fellowship in 2003. She currently teaches at SUNY Albany and New York University.


Author Links


Article on Davis and the art of the 'short short' (Guardian)

Excerpt from 'The Collected Stories of Lydia Davis' at NPR

'The Dreadful Mucamas': Davis story in Granta




Previous Author * Next Author